• Home
  • Research and Education

R&E Foundation


The MISSION of the Foundation is to advance the practice of pharmacy in Missouri through education and research.


The VISION of the Foundation is:

  1. To foster educational opportunities for members of health system pharmacy to obtain knowledge in assisting patients in the safe and effective use of their medications.
  2. To advance and perpetuate health system pharmacy through scientific research
  3. To develop and encourage members of health system pharmacy to accept leadership roles in the provision of health care services focused on achieving optimal outcomes for patients.

Read the Foundation Constitution and By-Laws.


Donate online if you are interested in donating to the Foundation, and are a Missouri registered business entity or a Missouri resident.

*The Foundation is not registered to solicit donations outside Missouri.

2018 Annual Report

The Foundation has met via regular conference calls.  Our primary activities for the past year are outlined below:

  • Created Poster Presentation submission form.  Form clearly outlined Poster Categories as Encore Research, Original Research, Research in Progress.  Submission form also included an option for presenters to check which day they would like to present their poster. 
  • Revised Poster Judging criteria
  • Updated Best Residency Project Award scoring criteria
  • Developed a submission form for members to submit their recent publications.  Goal for R&E to highlight a recent publication from our members in each Newsletter and have section on website highlighting publication citations. 
  • MSHP R&E Foundation website updated with current board members and recent Foundation award winners. 
  • The Foundation awarded a total of $500 to the winners of the Missouri Schools of Pharmacy clinical skills competition- Allie Oxford and Alexander Spillars from StlCOP; Kaily Kurzweil and Michelle Sproat from UMKC.  The students were formally recognized during the Missouri Reception at the ASHP Annual Midyear Meeting.  This award helps the students offset the costs of representing their schools at the ASHP Clinical Skills Competition, held annually during the ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting. 

Award Winners

    • Thomas J. Garrison Award- Amy Sipe
    • Best Practice Award- Journey McCarty, Pharm.D “Implementation of a Pharmacist Driven 72 hour Antibiotic Time-Out”
    • Best Residency Project Award- Haleigh Stolte, Pharm.D “CAM I aCUtely Change Your Mind: A Pharmacist Driven Approach to Reducing Delirium”
    • Platform Presentations
      • Alex Meyr “Risk of nephrotoxicity associated with vancomycin in combination with piperacillin-tazobactam or cefepime”
      • Danica Balbach “Evaluation of prothrombin complex concentrate use in patients with bleeding events associated with warfarin, apixaban, or rivaroxaban at a community hospital”

Board of Directors

Jacklyn Harris, Pharm.D, BCPS
Executive Director
R&E Foundation
Christian Hospital; St. Louis College of Pharmacy
St. Louis, MO

Chair Anthony ("Tony") Huke, Pharm.D, BCPS, Truman Medical Center, Kansas City, MO

Alex Oschman,
Pharm.D, BCPPS, Children’s Mercy, Kansas City, MO

Davina Dell-Steinbeck, Pharm.D, BCPS, St. Mary’s Hospital, St. Louis, MO

Davina Dell-Steinbeck, Pharm.D, BCPS, St. Mary’s Hospital, St. Louis, MO
Amy Honey, Pharm.D, BCPS, Mercy Hospital Joplin, Joplin, MO
Karen Scott, RPh, MBA, Christian Hospital, St. Louis, MO
Matt Baker, Pharm.D, BCPS, North Kansas City Hospital, Kansas City, MO
Sonja Grinfeld, Pharm.D, University of Missouri, Columbia, MO
Rebecca Nolen, Pharm.D, BCPS, St. Mary’s Hospital, St. Louis, MO

Upcoming events

Copyright 2020, Missouri Society of Health-System Pharmacists
501(c)6 non-profit organization. 2650 S. Hanley Rd., Suite 100, St. Louis, MO 63144 
p: (314) 416-2246, f: (314) 845-1891, www.moshp.org
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software